Notes Of Light Photography, Atlanta & Gwinnett

Back Lighting

This post features photographs that I took while experimenting with back lighting. While at a local horse farm during the time of sunset, I noticed a horse standing in a field on a hill. The sunlight was shining through his hair creating long shadows across the hard ground and tall stalks of grass.

I moved quickly to the field, entered through an old gate, and tried to silently approach the horse so as to get into a choice position. I snapped several shots before the animal noticed I was there and the light began to fade.

These two shots were taken with a 50mm lens at f-stop 2.2 for 1/640 of a second. I used a faster shutter speed in case the horse decided to move while I was taking the photograph.

Enjoy the gallery, click on a photo to enlarge. 🙂

8 thoughts on “Back Lighting”

  1. Great images-especially the one on the left-the light is beautiful and does a lovely job of highlighting the horse as well-nicely done!
    Thank you too for visiting Move the Chair-I appreciate you taking the time to look-I look forward to seeing more of your work-

Leave a Reply

