Architectural Photography by Notes Of Light, Atlanta & Gwinnett

Chattanooga Terminal Station Architecture

If anyone reading this blog has been to Chattanooga and visited the old railroad terminal station then they probably admired the spacious interior and beautiful ceiling. Listed on the National Register of Historic Places, the Beaux-Arts style building was built in 1909, was featured in Glenn Miller’s song “Chattanooga Choo Choo” of 1941, and currently lives on as a tourist destination of antique trains, restaurants, and hotel.

Attracted by the grand visual field, I set up several photographs of the depot’s ceiling and tried to capture interesting elements of the huge area. Complimenting the frame were the curved lines and mix of old school lighting and natural lighting.

If ever in the area, this is an interesting stop for the photographer and tourist alike.

3 thoughts on “Chattanooga Terminal Station Architecture”

  1. I really enjoyed the photos and the post; I have been here and it is fun to revisit it in my memory! I loved those old depots and wish we still rode trains more often! 😊 I don’t know if the depot I would have gone to in Atlanta in the early 60’s is still there is still there and used for something else? I am not sure. Thank you agin for stopping by my blog!

Leave a Reply

