Springtime Portrait Session

Beautiful portrait photography by Notes Of Light, Atlanta & Gwinnett
Portrait photography by Notes Of Light, Atlanta & Gwinnett

Springtime in Atlanta is always a great time of year with the variety of flowering plants, and I can’t imagine anywhere else being quite as pretty when they are all in bloom. As I like to incorporate scenery into my portraits I wanted to take advantage of all of the outdoor beauty with a portrait photo session.

This young model was wonderful to work with, looks beautiful, and was even agreeable with getting up early for the morning shoot. While I usually shy away from special effects, I added antiquing which seemed appropriate for this first shot. The second shot was a concept photograph of which we took advantage of our surroundings and streaming light.

Portrait photography by Notes Of Light, Atlanta & Gwinnett
Portrait photography by Notes Of Light, Atlanta & Gwinnett

The third was the model purely her being herself.  I usually give models minimal instruction if the they are relaxed and natural, which she was.

Portrait photography by Notes of Light, Atlanta & Gwinnett
Portrait photography by Notes of Light, Atlanta & Gwinnett

The fourth picture we decided to try after we thought we had finished for the day, using a dogwood tree’s blossoms of which Atlanta is famous.

Portrait photography by Notes Of Light, Atlanta & Gwinnett
Portrait photography by Notes Of Light, Atlanta & Gwinnett
16 thoughts on “Springtime Portrait Session”

  1. These are beautiful. I too like the antique effect you added on that first one. I live in N. GA and have been simply inhaling the beauty of the dogwoods and azaleas lately. Thanks for sharing these.

    1. Hi Nick, I’m glad you picked up on the pastel tone. Although I usually use Adobe Lightroom, there really was little post-processing other than dodging and burning. Much of the pastel came from the setting (lots of flowering trees), the soft morning light, the color of her dress, and the grey stone she was sitting upon. After that, I didn’t have to add any color, I just made sure to balance the light and dark the way I prefer.

      Thanks for stopping by, and let me know if there are any other questions I can answer.

  2. Beautiful. I belong to Ladies and Literature, a group on Goodreads. Would you mind if I suggested one of the pictures where a book is pictured to be considered for use as its cover photo? The cover photos are changed out at different times in the year.

Leave a Reply

